Organization Operation

Organization and Administration

Decisions on policies by the Japan Academic Association for Copyright Clearance (JAC) are made by the resolution of the Board of Directors and the general meeting of members. The policies are carried out by the Steering Committee, which consists of members elected from among academic associations and publishers. Practical affairs are administered by the Secretariat (Director-General of Secretariat). JAC's all affairs of copyright management are reported to the Board of Directors and the general meeting of members for approval and are subject to auditing by the auditors of JAC and external auditing firms. In this way, they are administered properly.

All of JAC's affairs concerning copyright management are reported to the Agency for Cultural Affairs according to the provisions of the Law on Management Business of Copyrights and Neighboring Rights. Moreover, they are subject to the Agency's on-site audit of management organizations of copyrights and neighboring rights according to the Law.

The members are five associations: the Japan Federation of Engineering Society, the Japanese Association for Dental Science, the Association of Japan Agricultural Scientific Societies , the Pharmaceutical Society of Japan and the Japanese Association of Medical Sciences.

The composition of directors and auditors are as follows:

List of directors of JAC for FY2016 to FY2017

Position Name Present Post
President Yosuke SEYAMA
Chief Director, Japan Medical Abstracts Society
Vice President Kazuhiko YAMAMOTO
Secretary General, The Japan Federation of Engineering Societies
Executive Director Katsuyuki TAKEUCHI
Japan Academic Association For Copyright Clearance
Director Kenji NAEMURA
Research Fellow, Secure System Laboratory,
Institute of Information Security
Director Hiroshi MATSUMOTO
Professor, Executive Officer, Faculty of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Tsukuba
Director Takeshi NAEMURA
Professor, Graduate School of Interdisciplinary Information Studies, The University of Tokyo
Director Yutaka ODA
Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Dental College
Director Hideaki SUDA
Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Medical and Dental University
Director Katsumi AIDA
Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo
Director Naoko NISHIZAWA
Professor, Ishikawa Prefectural University
Director Nobuhiro NAKAMURA
Deputy Secretary General, The Pharmaceutical Society of Japan
Director Yasuhito YUASA
Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Medical and Dental University
Director Shigeki SASAKI
Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kyushu University
Director Takeo NAKAYAMA
Professor, Graduate School of Medicine and Faculty of Medicine, Kyoto University
Inspector Kiyoshi KITAMURA
Professor, International Research Center for Medical Education, Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo
Inspector Seiji ISHIBASHI
Professor, The University of Tokyo Forests, Graduate School of Agricultural and Life Sciences, The University of Tokyo

Top of Page

Related Information

Sub Menu

About JAC
  • Message from JAC
  • Mission/Role
  • Establishment
  • History
  • Organizational Operation
  • Stipulations of Management Consignment Agreement
  • Royalty Fee Rules
  • Access Map